Saturday, November 9, 2013

#typhoonhaiyan

My heart and condolences go out to those affected by Typhoon Haiyan..Words cannot express the devastation and uncertainty pressing down on the Phillipino people. The death toll estimate rising upwards of 1200 (and some say 10,000), not to mention the amount of damage that has been done to the homes and lives of these people.  Our prayers are with you and your families.

For more information, please check the following Tweets...and help any way you can...

Thanks,

#G-Man

Thursday, November 7, 2013

#TwitterIPO #TWTR


The day has finally arrived..and not too soon after, #TwitterIPO has been reported to be in the top 6 of Google trends. The hysteria is spreading like Tickle Me Elmo's during Christmas time, and all eyes are watching Twitter's stocks like a diabetic watching donuts being made at Krispy Kreme. Every twitterfan is throwing in their bones to get a piece of the IPO stocks, while being reported at somewhere in the realm of valuation at possibly more than 18 BILLION...

That's a lot of billions...

Especially for a company that doesn't really make any money.

Sporting 232 million users (how many are actually active?), it represents a huge tapping of advertising potential.  Taking into consideration that Google originally wasn't a huge money-making universal omnipotent power initially until that magic Pay-Per-Click thing came into play, Twitter may yet have potential for major growth.  

BBC reported the following:

"In papers filed with US regulators ahead of the listing, it was revealed for the first time that Twitter made a loss of $69m in the first six months of 2013, on revenues of $254m."
 and
"But analysts say the company is showing strong signs of growth, with revenue rising from just $28m in 2010 to $317m by the end of 2012." 

Even Stephen Colbert had a few words to say regarding the matter...


Whether or not anyone will actually be 'cashing in' is the question of the year. Will it be another Facebook flop w/overvalued IPO?

Last minute tweets confirm the buzzfeed:

And...
Finally this meme..


It'll be a wild ride no matter what...it'll be something to tweet about either way...

#G-Man


Tuesday, November 5, 2013

#weeeeeeeeeeeee

Presented by Fox news......

The twittersphere was ablaze today like a gasoline-soaked sagebrush garden about Fox News' latest faux pa...

See below...
The work of hackers on foxnews.com? 

WEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE
STUFF YO

According to sources, the World Zombie Day was actually legit...just an internal error from an archived headline :) I guess I missed that one...

Also...according to LA Times, the claim was that this wasn't actually a hack...but an internal error, as reported below:
“During routine website maintenance, a homepage prototype was accidentally moved to the actual site," Fox News Chief Digital Officer Jeff Misenti said in a statement. "As with any mistake in testing, engineers noticed the error and quickly brought the site back to its normal function."
Source: LA Times

Guess that's why you always leave Latin gibberish for your works in progress....and...I guess that's why you don't let the intern update your live home page....

Oops...

#G-Man

#bostonmassacre (#worsthalloweencostumesever)

What may have represented one of the most jaw-dropping, heartbreaking events of the Boston's past decade in the Boston Marathon bombing suddenly was forcibly tied into another jaw-dropping heartbreaking event.  This comes from @skankinMI...classy name for a classy costume...


http://media.mlive.com/saginawnews_impact/photo/boston-bombing-halloween-costume-209acb4b79f4b645.jpg

Apparently, this young woman from Michigan has a local Most Offensive Costumes Halloween store, with shelves complete with costumes such as Holocaust Victim, or 9-11 survivor. This is far worse I would argue than even the mom who dressed her seven-year-old kid in this robust costume: 


http://www.theblaze.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/Screen-Shot-2013-11-03-at-8.48.03-AM.jpg

I think...and I'm pretty sure...that the phrase 'too soon' definitely applies to the Boston Bombing costume...in fact, I think that for some costumes, "too soon," is always relative.  Some of the recent tweets on this seemingly innocent stunt elucidate my thoughts:

@kimberlyroslund said: 
@SomeSKANKinMI you are an absolutely disgusting human being. 

@sydney23lynne poignantly tweeted: @SomeSKANKinMI You should be ashamed, my mother lost both her legs and I almost died in the marathon. You need a filter. 

and @_jmej27 wittily stated: Just saw the Boston Marathon costume...insensitive, low, heartless 140 characters is not enough for such disrespect.

And finally, I think our old friend Jean Luc Picard says it succinctly...

http://cahill95ta.home.comcast.net/~cahill95ta/stuff/picard_shame.gif

Unfortunately for this woman whose actions were inconsiderably offensive, she has gone on to lose her job, her security as she has received multiple death threats, and her future credibility for being something. Sometimes people need to take a second...maybe a 140 seconds (one for each character) and think...what would Jesus tweet? WWJT. To all the others, forget the death threats...nowadays that's a cliche thing to do. How about you put it behind you, and live your lives. Let her learn from her own proverbial backslap and MOVE ON... 

#G-Man

Sunday, November 3, 2013

#Welcome!

http://socialmediatoday.com/sites/socialmediatoday.com/files/hashtag_4.jpg
Source: http://socialmediatoday.com/sites/socialmediatoday.com/files/hashtag_4.jpg


Welcome to all readers...young and old, blond and brunette, literate and well...I guess you have to be literate to enjoy this.  But a very special welcome to you personally to my new blog! Having suddenly contracted a writer's itch to escape some of the mundane aspects of work, I decided the perfect topic to write about would be that sacred symbol...that archaic rune of old...

Yes, it's the #.  

Formerly known as the pound sign back when people used to need it for touch tone phones...it's now evolved into an iconic networking of social news.  You can hashtag your party last night(#whydidIwakeupwithacrayonmustache?)...though you may not want to incriminate yourself, so be careful.  You could hashtag that millionth pic you've taken of your darling daughter (#mydaughterismuchcuterthanyourshandsdown), or you could even hashtag that ugly picture of your date chomping on spaghetti (#Idon'tknowwhyItakehimtoniceplaces).  Either way, the hashtag has come to mean something to everyone.  It means 'the latest.' It is your innermost thoughts at the specific moment in time you discovered something novel you have to share with the world. The hashtag is 'it.'

 http://www.blogmedialabs.com/http://ml-datos.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/hashtags1.gif

For that reason, I hope you'll be stopping by to see my thoughts on the latest hashtags that invade our Netflix queues, our Twitter feeds, and our Facebook statuses.  So please come back soon!

#G-Man.